Home > Daily Special

Announcement: Whitney Award Winners 2018

By Jessie Christensen

The 2018 Whitney Awards winners were announced at the eleventh annual Whitney Awards Gala on May 10th, 2019 in nine genre-specific categories (the 2018 awards year combined General and Historical Fiction into the General Fiction category).

The Whitney Awards is a fiction awards program for authors who are also members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The program was founded by author Robison Wells ten years ago in hopes of acknowledging and encouraging exceptional LDS writers. “What began as a way to encourage quality in a relatively small community of writers,” says Wells, “now includes New York Times Bestselling authors, as well as self-published and first-time novelists. It’s exciting to see the awards grow and expand the way they have.”

The 2018 winners are as follows:


Perfect Set by Melanie Jacobson

Historical Romance:

Seeing Miss Heartstone by Nichole Van

General Fiction:

As Wide as the Sky by Jessica Pack


A Familiar Fear by Kathi Oram Peterson

Speculative Fiction:

Witchy Winter by D.J. Butler

Young Adult Fantasy:

The Traitor’s Game by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Young Adult General Fiction:

Girl at the Grave by Teri Bailey Black

Young Adult Speculative Fiction:

First Kisses Suck by Ali Cross

Middle Grade Fiction:

Resistance by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Novel of the Year, Adult Fiction:

As Wide as the Sky by Jessica Pack

Novel of the Year, Youth Fiction

Resistance by Jennifer A. Nielsen

Best Novel by a Debut Author:

Girl at the Grave by Teri Bailey Black

Two authors were presented with Outstanding Achievement Awards for 2018. Elena Johnson received the award for her prolific and noteworthy publishing career as well as her generosity in sharing her knowledge and skills with the writing community.

Lisa Mangum received the award for her endless contributions to the writing community in teaching and uplifting others at writing conferences, retreats, online groups and one-on-one meetings. She was also recognized for ensuring all writers feel welcomed and included in the writing community.

Any reader can nominate novels for the Whitney Awards. Panels of judges select five finalists in each category. Winners are then selected by an academy of industry professionals, including authors, publishers, bookstore owners, distributors, critics, and others. For more information on the Whitney Awards or nominating a book written by an LDS author and published this year, visit www.WhitneyAwards.com.

About Jessie Christensen

Jessie served a mission in Spain and graduated from BYU with bachelor's degrees in Spanish Translation and English, as well as a master's in Spanish Literature. She currently works full-time at a university library and nurtures her three children, one cat, and a fluctuating number of fish. She relaxes by reading, baking, canning fruit, and putting together jigsaw puzzles.

Leave a Comment