2017 Whitney Finalists

By Emily Milner

Congratulations to all the 2017 Whitney Finalists, especially Blood Rose Rebellion, but Segullah’s own Rosalyn Collings Eves!

First, the press release (thank you, Peggy Eddlemen! That is really helpful); then a few of my random thoughts about this year’s finalists:

Press Release:
The 2017 Whitney Awards finalists were announced on February 12, 2018 in ten genre-specific categories. The winners will be announced at the tenth annual Whitney Awards Gala, to be held on Saturday, May 5, 2018 in Provo, UT.

The Whitney Awards is a fiction awards program for authors who are also members of The Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints. The program was founded by author Robison Wells ten years ago in hopes of acknowledging and encouraging exceptional LDS writers. “What began as a way to encourage quality in a relatively small community of writers,” says Wells, “now includes New York Times Bestselling authors, as well as self-published and first-time novelists. It’s exciting to see the awards grow and expand the way they have.”

The 2017 awards year includes a new genre. The Young Adult Speculative category has been split into Young Adult Speculative and Young Adult Fantasy to reflect the variations in these genres.

The 2017 finalists are as follows:

Read More